Our Skins

We run desperately

From this bitter

Salted reality

Our skins can’t

Contain our anguish

This lamented sanity

What shameful mortality

It stands so brittle with me

Cut me with your needs

When I stop bleeding

Perhaps you will see

That I was more

Than just sinful skin

But I was never enough

My reality was too small

You needed a universe

To hold that gaze of yours

Mine was lost among the stars

Please stop and listen

The silence wraps us

Brush yourself with me

Our skins bruise too quick

We were meant for harm

And still we cannot part ways

There is never enough speed

To run away from ourselves

Only our tears precede us

Salting the road that lies ahead.

Leave a Reply

