Night Bus

It’s a lonesome road that I began on a dark Sunday night. In a dingy, semi empty bus, the miles just passed by in a haze of neon lights and traffic noise. My companions were mostly elderly folk, plus a few middle aged couples, people that had a tired look on their faces. To them this ride was as much a time to rest as well as a ferry towards whatever shit they were heading towards. The seat next to me was empty. 

Soon neon was replaced by blackness and the distant light of stars. I breathed in the stale air of the bus, wishing it was dawn. My thoughts drifted of yesterday, of words unspoken. I could only stare at the empty seat and think how things could have been different. But here I was. I settled for the long night ahead, I’d probably sleep little.

Leave a Reply

